Workplace Wellbeing Charter

female cooksWhat is the Workplace Wellbeing Charter?

The Workplace Wellbeing Charter is a statement of intent that demonstrates the commitment of employers to the health and wellbeing of their employees.

The aim of the Charter is to support employers to maximise the potential of their staff, and to make small changes that impact positively on staff health and wellbeing. The Charter focuses on the three key elements of Leadership, Culture and Communication that can help employers receive maximum benefit and return from employee health and wellbeing.

The Charter is relevant to all businesses and organisations, no matter how big or small, as long as they can demonstrate commitment to staff health and wellbeing. Employers can assess their performance at three levels: Commitment, Achievement and Excellence. For smaller organisations the Commitment level acts as a useful checklist to ensure legal obligations are met. The criteria for Commitment level should not involve significant financial investments.

 There are eight Charter Standards:

  • leadership,
  • sickness and absence management,
  • health & safety,
  • alcohol and substance abuse,
  • smoking and tobacco,
  • mental health,
  • healthy eating 
  • physical activity

What employers need to do to achieve these Standards varies depending on the size of their business/organisation and the Charter level to which they are aiming.

Supporting toolkit materials and topic guides have been funded by Public Health England and are free for all organisations to use. Find out more about the Charter and what is required at each level. 

© copyright 2013. All rights reserved